Say Anything

Don’t Say
– I don’t know nothing about cooking.
– I’m not doing nothing.
– She didn’t say nothing.
– He won’t do nothing.

Say This:
– I don’t know anything about cooking.
– I’m not doing anything.
– She didn’t say anything.
– He won’t do anything.

Remember:

  • Use Anything instead of Nothing in negative sentences that contain the word “not” (including don’t, doesn’t, didn’t, can’t, couldn’t, won’t, wouldn’t, isn’t, wasn’t, aren’t, weren’t, hasn’t, haven’t …)
    • I can not see anything.
    • Katia isn’t buying anything today.
    • My brother never helps with anything.
    • I’m not afraid of anything.
  • Usually avoid using double-negatives (two negative words) in a sentence.
    • Examples of negative words:
      • Not, Nothing, None, Nobody, Neither, Nowhere…

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *