Remind vs. Remember

Don’t Say
Remember me to make a doctor’s appointment tomorrow.
– That song remembers me of our trip to Cape Cod.
– I reminded that I have to work on Tuesday.
– I reminded to pick up milk at the store.

Say This:
Remind me to make a doctor’s appointment tomorrow.
– That song reminds me of our trip to Cape Cod.
– I remembered that I have to work on Tuesday.
– I remembered to pick up milk at the store.

Remember (Don’t forget):

  • Remember  
    • is the opposite of “forget”
    • Remember is something you think about from your own memory – it’s internal
    • Remember + something
      • I remembered your birthday.
      • I remember the first day we met.
    • Remember + to (She remembered to call her mother.)
    • Remember + that (I remembered that there is no school today.)
    • YouGlish examples of remember (also remembers and remembered)
  • Remind
    • Remind is to help someone remember something – it’s external
    • Remind + someone + to
      • Carla, please remind me to do my homework
      • I have to remind my father to take his medicine.
    • Remind + someone + of
      • That smell reminds me of springtime.
      • That dog reminded me of the dog I had when I was a boy.
    • YouGlish examples of remind (also reminds and reminded)

Below is more explanation especially for Portuguese speakers (one here for Spanish speakers, and one more for everyone)

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *